What successful blogging means to me

What successful blogging means to me

There are a huge number of reasons why someone will start a blog, there are a ton of benefits to having one. The drive to start a blog might be somewhat similar, but when do you begin to characterize your blog as successful. For onlookers, success is usually tied to numbers and views, once you are getting a lot of reactions, likes and comments your blogging journey's success has begun. The question is, "can that be the only goal"?

Where is the finish line, if any?

For most, writing becomes a life-long habit and success is in every body of work published whether it is an article of two pages or a book of six hundred. For me, it is similar and success means being able to tell the world about my thoughts and ideas through the pieces I publish. To answer the question, finish lines do not exist although getting feedback and being able to help someone learn something new are definitely high points.

So, what will I consider as successful blogging:

  • Publishing an article. Every article published smells sweet of success.
  • Writing articles for other blogs. If my article gets published as a guest article on established platforms, that will definitely feel awesome knowing that my content is considered premium.
  • Getting invited to speak at workshops or conferences. This isn't exactly blogging but getting invites to speak on topics I write about means my articles have been quite educative, creating the impacts I imagined it would.

There will be many high points in a blogger's career, some more emotional than others but off the top of my head the list above represent what success in blogging means to me.

What does successful blogging mean to you? Leave a comment!

Cover photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash. Follow me on Twitter or connect with me on LinkedIn. Cheers!