Why I blog as a software developer

Why I blog as a software developer

Everyone that writes will have a different story as to why they started in the first place, for me, it was a combination of things. Going through articles and resources from other people daily and I thought, "I should be documenting my journey, ideas, and all other things too."

Overcoming Inertia

I had the urge to write but I couldn't bring myself to publish the first article. There was always something to make me procrastinate. Hashnode and its Bootcamp helped me with most of it, that includes setting up a personal blog easily and finding the push to finally put out my first article respectively. Listening to other technical writers talk about their successes and difficulties, and I understood that what I felt was normal and relatable.

Keeping the wheels moving

Every article published brings renewed strength to do another one. The following represent the reasons why I write:

  • I write because in trying to teach I understand better, and carrying out research on a topic gives me a fresh insight into it.
  • Writing is another way to publicize my craft and document my journey, to let people know what I do and my current interests.
  • Publishing technical articles consistently help to improve my writing skills.
  • Writing presents the opportunity of taking a breather from regular coding and its challenges. It is a way to learn or reinforce knowledge about programming without necessarily writing code.

Writing is a skill and no one perfects it from start but over time. I hope that while you go through this article, you find the motivation to start or continue publishing articles.

Photo by Retrosupply on Unsplash